Fall is probably one of my favourite times of year for exploring and being “outdoorsy”… I love taking in God’s beauty, loving the colours, the warm sunshine, the cool air, the nice smells of leaves as they fall to the ground…

This year I had a pity party for myself and fell into one of my little times of grief.  I’ve spoken about this cycle of grief that parents of special needs parents go through with various things.  I grieve when I feel like I’ve “lost” something that “should have been.”

 This last moment (which lasted about 2 weeks) came from not being able to take a family hike to see the fall colours (as I write this, it’s still there, even though I recognize it).  I see friends posting fun, outdoor family hikes, and although I’m so happy for them, I’m sad, because my guys still are unbalanced and unsure of slopes and grades.  I would love to enjoy the great outdoors with them at this level… but they’re not ready…

I took my daughter out for a hike a couple times, and kept wishing that we could all be doing it.  I took her fishing this past weekend, and wished we could all go fishing.

I was telling a co worker how I honestly felt about the boys not being able to keep up and not be able to do outdoorsy things.  She looked up at me and said “not yet!”

How did I not see that? 

Not yet!!

In all of my grief, I forgot how far we have come with these guys.  How many successes we HAVE HAD! 

I realized in that moment that I’m doing what I need to do, what we need to do.  We are teaching our daughter about loving nature, and the boys as well, at their level…. and we just need to continue to dream and work towards our goals. 
And yes, I will continue to grieve for the things that are lost right now but I need to remember sometimes that the answer is sometimes “NOT YET!”

